Department of Sports Science and Physical Education

Faculty of Education, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Physical Education Pedagogy Research

RESEARCH OBJECTIVES
The focus of this area is the study of teaching and learning, curriculum and design, continuing professional development and broader social and educational issues that pertain to Physical Education.


Teacher Education and Professional Development
Through examining current issues in physical education and sport pedagogy, much of the work has addressed the professionalism of Physical Education teachers and their relations to students’ learning effectiveness. In addition, with Physical Education being one of the key learning areas in recent educational reform, we have attempted to explore ways to enhance the students’ learning experiences in formal and informal school curriculum. Through international collaborations with prominent universities from North America, Australia and China, we have developed an "East meets West" approach in receiving and informing latest issues in physical education and sport pedagogy research.


Physical Education and Social Issues, and Children's Physical Activity
Professor Amy Ha and her research team are working on projects examining social and psychological factors that affect health-related physical activity (PA) participation and engagement in physical education in secondary school students. These projects are grounded on theoretical frameworks such as constructivism, self-determination theory and ecological model. On-going studies involve examinations of psychological and social factors associated with students’ PA patterns both during and outside school hours. Professor Ha has also received donations to promote physical active and healthy lifestyles to students. These projects also includes a strong research component, and the team has been examining the relation between rope skipping practices, motivation factors, fundamental movement skills, and social skills in Hong Kong students .The results of these studies would be used to inform and improve existing teacher development practices, thereby helping physical education teachers adopt student perspectives in their teaching, and to device methods to cater student diversity.

Recently, the team began a series of studies using family-based strategies. Essentially, by involving the participation of other family members, the team aims to create a more supportive environment to promote sustained behavioral change.


Professor Uwe Pühse from the University of Basel of Switzerland visited Professor Amy Ha’s Research Team and Sport Pedagogy and Physical Activity Assessment Laboratory
Professor Amy Ha, founder and President of the Hong Kong Rope Skipping Association, China, received the Leader of the Year 2016 award on behalf of the association on 16 March 2017

BRIEF TITLES OF ON-GOING PROJECTS:
  • Promoting physical and health literacy in Hong Kong preschool teachers, children and their families
  • Investigating schoolchildren’s fundamental movement skills, perceived physical competence and exercise enjoyment
  • Examining the psychometric properties of the Chinese version of the KIDSCREEN-52 health-related quality of life questionnaire
  • Does autonomous motivation predicts moderate-to-vigorous physical activity and psychological well-being in Hong Kong schoolchildren?
  • Active Hong Kong, Health Citizens – A family-based physical activity, fundamental movement skill, and nutrition program
  • Impact of rope skipping on health-related fitness, fundamental movements skills, bone mineral density, and academic performance in Hong Kong Chinese pre- and early-pubertal girls: A quasi-experiment
  • Increasing Hong Kong Chinese students’ physical activity through fitness infusion and an autonomy supportive learning environment: Evaluation of the SELF-FIT program using a clustered randomized controlled trial
  • Increasing Hong Kong primary children's fundamental movement skills through an assessment -based teacher led intervention using a clustered randomized controlled trial

RESEARCH Group



Amy S. C. HA (夏秀禎)
Associate Dean (Research) and Professor
Teacher Education,
Sports and Physical Activity,
Professional Development
Email: sauchingha@cuhk.edu.hk
Tel: 3943 6083



Johan Y. Y. NG (吳又言)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Sport and Exercise Psychology,
Motivation to physical education and physical activity
Email: yyng@cuhk.edu.hk
Tel: 3943 6098



Cecilia H. S. CHAN (陳凱詩)
Research Associate
PE Pedagogy,
Teaching and Assessment of Fundamental Movement Skills
Email: ceciliachanhs@cuhk.edu.hk
Tel: 3943 9440



Juanita S. T. CHEUNG (張善婷)
PhD student
Teaching Education,
Physical Education and Sport Administration,
Physical Activity Participation and Motivation of Girls
Email: jstcheung@cuhk.edu.hk
Tel: 3943 7166

體 育 運 動 科 學 系

香港中文大學 教育學院

運動教育學

研究目的
在近年的教育改革,體育科被香港教育局正式列入八大學習領域。順應改革趨勢,本研究集中於有關體育的教與學、課程設計以及與此相關的更廣泛的社會與教育議題,例如培養體育教師「以學生為本」的教育理念及促進學生多元化發展。


師範教育及專業培訓
本團隊研究體育教育及體育教學法的近期議題,主要為體育老師專業發展及其與學生學習成效之間的關係。隨著體育科目在教改中地位的提升,研究團隊嘗試於正式及非正式的學校課程中改善學生的學習體驗。我們與北美、澳洲及中國的著名大學合作,以「融匯中西」的方式交流體育科及運動教學法研究的最新成果。


體育教育與社會議題及青少年兒童體力活動參與
近年來,夏秀禎教授與研究團隊成員著力研究影響中學生體力活動參與及體育課投入度的心理與社會因素這一課題。這些課題建基於建構主義、自我決定理論與社會生態模型等理論。研究項目具體包括中學女生體力活動的心理與社會影響因素,某些新興活動諸如花式跳繩對中小學生體力活動水平、對體育課的喜愛程度及與健康相關的生活品質的影響等。其中,本研究團隊一系列的研究及推廣計劃可達至改善學生身心健康及生活方式的效果。此外,研究了跳繩對香港學生運動量、基礎動作能力、社交技巧等方面影響。這些研究成果為教師發展實踐提供了理論參考,有助體育教師從學生角度出發設計教學,實現因材施教。 近日,研究團隊開展了以家庭為基礎的體力活動推廣計劃,鼓勵學童的家庭成員一同參加、互相鼓勵,實現持之以恆地改善生活習慣。


瑞士巴塞爾大學Professor Uwe Pühse 教授到訪運動教育學及身體活動評估實驗室
School- and community-based projects were conducted to improve the fundamental movement skills of students from kindergartens and primary schools.

Professor Amy Ha led family-based projects to promote physical activity behaviors in children and their parents.
作為中國香港跳繩總會創始人和會長,夏教授於2017年代表總會獲得2016年度星島報業集團“香港傑出領袖”評選的體育/文化/演藝類大獎。

現行課題研究:
  • 透過家校合作,促進香港幼稚園教師、幼童及其父母的身體素養和健康素養
  • 探討香港學童基礎動作能力、知覺運動能力及運動愉快感覺關係的研究
  • KIDSCREEN-52 中文版健康相關生活質素問卷的心理測量學特性研究
  • 自主動機對香港學童中高強度體力活動和心理健康影響的研究
  • 活力香港、家庭健康 : 體力活動、基礎活動能力及營養的家庭推廣計劃
  • 跳繩對香港女童健康體適能、基礎活動能力、骨質密度及學業成績影響的研究
  • 以學生為本及新穎有趣的運動項目提升香港學童的健康體適能
  • 透過對小學體育教師基礎活動教學支援及評估的培訓以提升小學生的基礎動作能力

研究團隊



夏秀禎
副院長(研究)及教授
教師教育、運動及體力活動、專業發展
電郵: sauchingha@cuhk.edu.hk
電話: 3943 6083



吳又言
博士後研究員
運動心理學、參與體力活動之動機
電郵: yyng@cuhk.edu.hk
電話: 3943 6098



陳凱詩
副研究員
運動教育學、基礎動作技能 (教學及評估)
電郵: ceciliachanhs@cuhk.edu.hk
電話: 3943 9440



張善婷
博士生
教師教育、體育運動行政、
女生體力活動之參與情況及動機
電郵: jstcheung@cuhk.edu.hk
電話: 3943 7166